eXp Realty NYC is committed to adhering to the guidelines of The New York State Fair Housing Regulations. 

Click to view the NYS Fair Housing Notice and NYS Fair Housing Disclosure.

Standard Operating Procedures for Purchasers of Real Estate Property Pursuant to Real Property Law §442-H

Definition of Tax Class for Property in New York City

Tax Class:  Property in NYC is divided into 4 classes:

  • Class 1: Most residential property of up to three units (family homes and small stores or offices with one or two apartments attached), and most condominiums that are not more than three stories.
  • Class 2: All other property that is not in Class 1 and is primarily residential (rentals, cooperatives and condominiums). Class 2 includes:
    • Sub-Class 2a  (4 -  6 unit rental building);
    • Sub-Class 2b  (7 - 10 unit rental building);
    • Sub-Class 2c  (2 - 10 unit cooperative or condominium); and
    • Class 2  (11 units or more).
  • Class 3: Most utility property.
  • Class 4: All commercial and industrial properties, such as office, retail, factory buildings and all other properties not included in tax classes 1, 2 or 3.
Revised 9/16 - Information gathered 1.nyc.gov
Lee Presser
Lee Presser
Lic. Associate Real Estate Broker
1501 Broadway 12th FL New York NY 10036